Skip to content

30 Rock and a Wiggly war: in which I find out inadvertently that Sam was fired from the Wiggles

The wiggles during a visit to NASA.

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Last night’s 30 Rock skewered the Wiggles. What th–? Who th–? I say! How dare…! I feel I must defend the Wiggles as I had to defend poor Caillou. Another show that is deeply unpopular among adults, but loved by the little ones.

I have to say, as pro-Wiggle as I am, isn’t it kind of random that a popular primetime network TV show would devote an episode (or storyline in an episode) to ragging on the Wiggles? Within the kid world, they are huge, sure, both here in the U.S., and in their native Australia where they are permanent national heroes. Either Tina Fey promised her young daughter that she would work her favorite band into the show somehow, or she is so sick of hearing her daughter’s favorite band (I imagine) she decided to stick it to poor Murray, Anthony, Jeff, and Sam. Either way, I must admit it was a funny parody – making sociopaths of a sweet, pure-hearted group of children’s entertainers that personally wished my son a happy birthday at a concert at the Nassau Coliseum (except Jeff. To quote Stephen Colbert, you’re on notice, Jeff).

WAIT A SECOND!!! WAIT!!!

I just went on Wikipedia, as is my wont, to get a refresher on my Wiggles trivia to impart to all six of you, dear readers. Like verifying that they were one of the first bands to perform a live concert in New York City after the September 11 attacks, I recalled. Like banning all alcohol from their tours (booze is fine in the audience, kiddos, but not on the tour bus). What a bunch of sweethearts, right?

Then I read they sh*tcanned Sam and let Greg back in the yellow jersey! Oh, Wiggles. It’s all about the watermelons, as they say in Australia when referring to one-hundred-dollar notes.

In case you have been living under a rock for the past few years (by “under a rock,” I mean in the adult world, what with your fancy restaurants and movie-going and all), Greg Page, the original yellow-shirt-wearing lead singer of the Wiggles, left the group in 2006 due to illness. He was replaced by Sam Moran, a back-up singer for the group. It was all smiles and ceremonially turning over the yellow jersey. That’s great, but I need not remind you that Lance Armstrong, you ain’t.

Now, it’s 2012. Sam Moran is abruptly dumped (on his daughter’s second birthday, according to this article from Australia’s Daily Telegraph). Greg Page is reinstated. Allegations ensue. Here’s a couple: perhaps he had some financial difficulties (according to the Daily Telegraph: “He [Page] hit a financial setback when he lost a large part of his Wiggles fortune in a bad property development deal, and decided to return to the group.” Or maybe, there was a failed attempt at a solo career (just a guess – there was a grown-up music solo album). In 2011, the Wiggles earned $28.2 million Australian (or about $29 million American) dollars. You do the math.

Sam Moran - SInger/Entertainer

Sam Moran (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Greg’s health condition, orthostatic intolerance, the cause of his leaving the group in 2006, is still present, and according to Greg in this incredibly uncomfortable television interview, “the condition is managed.”

And Anthony? Oh, Anthony. The blue Wiggle. He always appeared the most affable of the bunch. And he says, in the uncomfortable interview: “What Sam does now is Sam’s thing. His contract has come to an end,” Field said. “Sam was just doing a job. He was a hired hand … I haven’t spoken to him.” And according to this article, Anthony was the cause of a “toxic” atmosphere; he didn’t speak to Sam offstage unless he absolutely had to. Blurgh, as Liz Lemon would say. Poor Sam.

And, says the Daily Telegraph, “While it is estimated Page received a $20 million-plus payout when he left (including royalties for music rights), Moran was locked into a contract rumoured at just $200,000 a year.” And he only received $60,000 as a severance fee earlier this year. That is not that many Australian dollars. Why don’t they call them Joeys? That’s not so many Joeys.

But you could tell, even just watching the performances and the videos, that for Anthony, the Wiggles are all about Anthony (J’accuse!). It is a bit of a Field family business. His brother, Paul, is the Wiggles manager. I have seen the mug of pretty much every member of his family grinning like maniacs back at me from the screen. His wife is Greek, for example, which is great, but when they do songs in foreign languages, which is also great great great, Greek is way overrepresented. Like when they did “You Make Me Feel Like Dancing” with Leo Sayer, they did half of it in Greek with Greek costumes. Random. We get your wife is Greek, Anthony. Give some of the other languages a chance. My kids have Greek ancestry but even I am looking to mix it up a bit. Or I was – we don’t watch the Wiggles so much anymore. My son has moved on, and I do feel a little maudlin sometimes when I hear “Rock-a-Bye Your Bear.”

Look, I know that the Wiggles are not running a charity, blithely recording music to entertain my toddler so that he’s happy when we’re in traffic on the Hutch. Of course it’s a business, a big one. And never mind the merchandising: they know jerks like me will write to Oz to get a Wiggles tablecloth for my son’s birthday party. But just like I naively extra-admire celebrities that stay out of the gossip magazines, I wanted to believe in the Wiggles. That they were among the good guys. That they were doing it out of love for children and music, and all of the fame and money was just a bonus. Well, that’s just dumb. (But do you notice that Murray Cook, the red Wiggle, is absent from these interviews and articles, at least the ones I’ve read? I like to think he has it a bit more together than the others — maybe that’s because he gave C the biggest happy birthday wish. C probably didn’t care too much, but I was psyched, and impressed.)

I can understand wanting the original yellow Wiggle back in the band, and Greg is great as a performer, but why be so hard on Sam Moran? When Greg retired, the Wiggles decided to keep the band going — presumably for the incredible amount of money — so they took on a “hired hand.” He did his job well; to the fans, Sam was a true Wiggle. Why treat him with so little respect?

I am fond of the Wiggles – I think so many of their songs are good; I appreciate their simplicity, and the warmth with which they address their young audience. I like how they keep old nursery rhymes and children’s songs alive, and it was fun to get a little glimpse of Australia through their show (did you know Australians call bell peppers capsicum?) But it’s not a good feeling to watch their discord and greed laid bare like they were Oasis or something. They seem to have been taken back by the attention this has generated, but they shouldn’t be. It’s pretty hard to hide that level of acrimoniousness. So good luck, Sam! Maybe I’ll buy your album. No, probably not – I’ve already thought way too much about this. Oh, now I feel bad. Maybe I will.

 

 

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. LLZ #

    Ah that reminds me! I read an article about the original yellow wiggle coming back while waiting for the OB this week! I meant to tell you! Too bad the Wiggles are not shown in NYC (thanks Time Warner).

    April 13, 2012
  2. Wait. I thought we agreed long ago that Greg was the superior Yellow Wiggle, even though we grew fond of Sam after him shouting out to C?

    April 13, 2012
  3. Jeanna LC #

    That’s right – long ago. But does poor Sam deserve this?

    April 13, 2012
  4. jeremyofnyc #

    rest assured that Sam will find another job, probably in the interior of a barney costume as he sucks every last uninspired dollar from parents who think that all entertainers coming from the land down under are, to quote Dr. Stanz, either certified genius or authentic whacko. Carry on, Mr. Gibson, carry on. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7d2xwCJU_Kw

    April 13, 2012
    • Jeanna LC #

      Ah, jeremyofnyc. We meet again. A tripartite response to your comment…
      1) Uninspired dollar? Or, Joey (let’s make that one happen, Australia!)? Uninspired??? Did you not SEE my feathersword-shaped birthday sign I made to bring to the Wiggles concert? I know you did. I know Murray did.
      But yes, I grant you their provenance make them, I think, a bit more palatable than if they were American.
      2) Isn’t Mel Gibson just pretend Australian? Isn’t he from Toledo or something and just puts on the accent? Wait! Wiki. Aha! Peekskill, NY. Just like The Facts of Life.
      3) Maybe I speak too soon, but the Wiggles would never consort with the likes of Mel Gibson! The Crocodile Hunter, absolutely (RIP).

      April 14, 2012
  5. Lauren #

    Wait, who is the one who actually knows how to sing again? I thought that was Sam!

    April 14, 2012
    • Jeanna LC #

      That was Sam! He is a more classically-trained singer and Greg is more of a rock singer. Why do I know this??? And I haven’t even mentioned Captain Feathersword’s musical credentials…

      April 14, 2012
      • Sorry your wrong.. Greg sings just as good as sam oh well it’s all over anyway the wiggles tour is selling out fast so no one cares anymore

        April 30, 2012
  6. and I like Greg and Sam but I missed Greg

    April 30, 2012
    • Jeanna LC #

      I think they are both great singers, actually, they just have different styles!

      April 30, 2012
  7. Thanks soooooooooooooooooo much for the great article this was just the thing I needed this morning

    August 19, 2012
  8. The way Sam was treated was appalling. And then for three Wiggles to retire a few months later, that was the first I’ve heard of it. A local radio station announced it and I assumed that it would be Anthony, Jeff, and Murray that would be leaving. And that’s when I found out Sam had been fired and Greg had come back and all that stuff.

    For Anthony to carry on with the group and just have three younger members join him, to
    me that just looks like an old man clinging to
    what he had.

    I guess the “family” takes care of its own.

    October 27, 2012
    • Agreed. I wonder how the new group will come across, and if they will be embraced like the old group was? Time will tell. I guess the most important thing is that they make children happy, but still, it was all a bit shoddy the way it was done.

      October 29, 2012
  9. I do not comment, but after looking at through some
    of the remarks on this page 30 Rock and a Wiggly war: in
    which I find out inadvertently that Sam was fired from the Wiggles | Five Uninterrupted Minutes.
    I do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind. Is it just me or does it
    appear like a few of these remarks appear like they are written by brain dead visitors?

    😛 And, if you are posting at additional online sites, I would
    like to keep up with you. Would you list of every one
    of your social community sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    June 19, 2013
    • Hi Jenny, thanks for your comment – sometimes I get comments in which it seems like people don’t know I’m kidding – maybe I need better jokes! You can follow me on Twitter at @jeanna823, but I’m not very good at Twitter – I’m too long-winded! Thank you for reading my blog!

      June 24, 2013
  10. Rachel #

    I know this is an old post and I have been meaning to comment for months but as a mom of 4 this is about the right turn around time for posting on a blog I read months ago! First, I must say I love this blog and your writing style! I am also pro-wiggles having been watching for the past 15 years with my own children spanning ages 1 through 9 and additional years I spent as a nanny. I remember when Anthony had brown hair, a uni-brow and an unfortunate natural nose. I digress, I just wanted to comment on the Greek thing. I live in America but my kids are Greek American I GREATLY appreciate children’s entertainment that features Greek because no others shows do here in America. That said the largest population of Greeks outside of Greece is in Australia so that is the reason they tend to use Greek more as a foreign language in their shows. It is like Spanish is used in America in children’s shows because of the large Hispanic population. Anyway, I first found this blog during Wiggle-Gate and I look forward to more posts about these “new” Wiggles. At this point I am not so sure.. although I do love they have a female Wiggle now! I do love you the tinge of snark to your posts! Keep up the good work! Cheers!

    September 28, 2013
    • Thank you so much for your comment, it is great to read that you like the blog! I didn’t know that about the Greek community in Australia, that’s interesting. I thought it was just Anthony getting his wife involved in the Wiggles empire. That said, I do like it as well, my children have Greek heritage also.

      I have not written a post about the new Wiggles – maybe I should! I have not checked them out yet since my three year old has no interest in the Wiggles, sadly. I miss them!

      October 1, 2013

Leave a Reply

