Skip to content

Freshly Pressed in a rumpled world

It’s gone noon and I still haven’t eaten breakfast. I feel a wicked cold coming on so I feel dizzy and spaced out and forgot to buy the one thing I dragged the kids to the drugstore for (I did remember clear mascara for my eyebrows, thank goodness). I spent precious time this morning shaping said eyebrows (wow, look how my brows are white – er – sun-bleached!) instead of cleaning my disaster of a kitchen. T’s napping now after freaking out at C’s kindergarten screening, and I dread waking the cranky toddler early to take him downtown to the doctor later, with C in tow. The wet laundry will probably sit in the machine till after dinner (what am I making, again? Is it defrosted?).

As I try to clean up, C keeps asking me to play his new chess game. There are a million things I need to do around here before T needs to get up (and in the meantime, the monitor won’t. stop. beeping. WHY DOES IT DO THAT?), but I stop, and we sit on the floor with hastily-made PB&J (for him, I still haven’t made that bruschetta I thought I would make myself before the farm-share tomatoes go bad) and explain to him the ways of the rook, and the knight, and how yes, actually the queen is more powerful than the king. Then I need to go back to the beginning, because I don’t know how to play chess myself and was telling him he could jump the pieces, like checkers. Whoops.

My head is pounding and I’m looking past the rest of a frazzled day to bedtime, but it doesn’t matter. I’ve convinced C to take a break with good ol’ Fireman Sam (as he provides his own very loud siren noises) so I can sit here at the computer (for Five Uninterrupted Minutes – heh) and be Freshly Pressed!

I started this blog after years of worrying about not being able to write, and struggling to find the time in the middle of life at home with two little ones, and I am so glad I did. Seeing the Dreamcrusher on Freshly Pressed has given me a great boost at the end of a restless week, and writing about my family reminds me about how much I love and appreciate being with them every day. It also reminds me that the Dreamcrusher is long overdue for an oil change. Got to add that to the list.

Thank you for reading my blog! Now to make C some “cold hot cocoa” (the rest of the world calls it chocolate milk, guy). Yay, WordPress!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Such a great thrill. Enjoy it!

    September 7, 2012
    • It’s been fun! My son was looking at me when I was reading the email and he said, “Why are you standing so still? You look weird.”

      September 7, 2012
  2. jeremyofnyc #

    we call chocolate milk batte batte chocolate….thank.you.dora.

    September 7, 2012
  3. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! You sound as if you have a very busy life!
    Thank you for visiting my blog!

    September 8, 2012
    • Thanks and congrats to you too! I enjoyed your post, and am thinking of introducing my 5-year-old to Asterix. I have a feeling he’ll like those books!

      September 9, 2012

Leave a Reply

