Skip to content

Reblog: Growing up Italian in a mac-and-cheese world

Hello! I am writing another post about the Miss Italia pageant and Italian TV, and it is not ready yet! I’m working in Italian time. So, nel frattempo, in the meantime, here is a post I wrote a few months ago on a related subject. So as they say in the old country, please read this post! Grazie!

Five Uninterrupted Minutes

I grew up in a two-family house with my Italian grandparents. So my childhood sounded pretty much like this video below. Feel free to skip it, if you’re a ‘merican, but if you have such a grandmother, mi raccomando – WATCH IT

I only wish I had a talent for puppetry and thought of it myself. All I would need to change is the hair. My Nonna had very fine, silky black hair. Plus she wasn’t that cheerful. She was funny, though. Her response to the question, “How are you?”  was “Staiu moriendu!” – I’m dying. And her farewell (forgive the approximated spelling of Calabrese dialect): “Stat’attiendu, ca ti chiappa ‘ngunu!” Be careful, someone might kidnap you.

Growing up in a bilingual, first-generation-American household has helped shape how I look at the world, how I look at America, how I look at a box of macaroni and…

View original post 1,554 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

